School of Law, GD Goenka University in association with Gaggar and Partners successfully organised The Global Antitrust and Competition Law Moot Court Competition 2017 from March 3-5 at the University campus. Out of total 48 teams who have provisionally registered for the competition, 38 teams had participated for the event. The moot proposition was based on the intricacies of Competition Law.

The Inaugural Function was presided by Hon’ble Mr. Justice Prafulla Chandra Pant, Judge, Supreme Court of India, along with Mr. Sanjay R. Hedge, Senior Advocate Supreme Court of Inida, Prof. (Dr.) Deependra Kumar Jha, Vice Chancellor, GD Goenka University, Mr. Vaibhav Gaggar, Managing Partner, Gaggar and Partners (Associates and Solicitors) and Prof. (Dr.) S. Shantakumar, Dean, School of Law.

The various round including the Preliminary, Quarter Final, Semi Finals and Finals were judged by eminent people including, Supreme Court and High Court Advocates and Managing Partners, Associates of Tier I Law Firms of the country like AZB Partners, BMR Legal, Gaggar and Partners (Associates and Solicitors), Cyril Amarchand & Mangaldas, Deloitte, Pathak and Associates, Luthra and Luthra, Snapdeal, Ernst & Young etc. Judges were also specially nominated by the Competition Commission of India and Indian Institute of Corporate Affairs to judge the Semi Final and Final Rounds.

The Valedictory function was presided by Hon\'ble Mr. Justice Swatanter Kumar, Chairperson, National Green Tribunal along with Prof. (Dr.) Deependra Kumar Jha, Hon\'ble Vice Chancellor, GD Goenka University, Mr. Manoj Pandey, Advisor, Competition Commission of India,Mr. R Venkataramani, Senior Advocate, Supreme Court of Inida, Mr. Naresh Arora, General Council, American Towers and Prof. (Dr.) S. Shantha kumar, Dean School of Law, GD Goenka University.

The Moot court Competition was won by Sastra University, Thanjavur, Tamil Nadu and Campus Law Centre, Delhi University landed with the runner up position. Other positions like Best Memorial was won by National University of Juridical Sciences, Kolkata and to add this there were two other categories for Best Speaker (Male) and Best Speaker (Female) both of which were from Dr. Ram Manohar Lohia National Law University, Lucknow.

Our Blogs Similar Blogs


Placement Expert Talk to Expert

+91 9910000062